Matthew Quick

autor

Love May Fail


From the New York Times bestselling author of The Silver Linings Playbook. 'Brilliant ...compulsively readable ...Love May Fail is as wholly transporting as any cinematic experience' GQ Portia Kane has escaped her cheating husband only to find herself back at square one, living with her mum in a place she thought she'd left behind forever. Lost and alone, looking to find the goodness she believes still exists in the world, Portia sets off to save herself by saving someone else - a beloved high school English teacher who has retired after a traumatic incident. Can Chuck, the handsome brother of Portia's old school friend, together with a sassy nun and a metal-head little boy, help Portia's chances in her bid for renewed hope in the human race? Moving and funny, Love May Fail by Matthew Quick is about the heartache and daring choices it takes to become the person you know deep down you are meant to be.
Vypredané
10,40 € 10,95 €

Every Exquisite Thing


From Matthew Quick, bestselling author of THE SILVER LININGS PLAYBOOK, comes EVERY EXQUISITE THING, a quirky and deeply moving novel about a teen's journey through love, rebellion and belonging. For readers who love John Green and Rainbow Rowell. 'Books like Quick's are necessary' New York Times Nanette O'Hare is an unassuming teen who has played the role of dutiful daughter, hard-working student, and star athlete for as long as she can remember. But when a beloved teacher gives her his worn copy of The Bubblegum Reaper - the mysterious, out-of-print cult-classic - the rebel within Nanette awakens. As she befriends the reclusive author, falls in love with a young but troubled poet, and attempts to insert her true self into the world with wild abandon, Nanette learns the hard way that sometimes rebellion comes at a high price. A celebration of the self and the formidable power of story, Every Exquisite Thing is Matthew Quick at his finest.
Vypredané
10,40 € 10,95 €

The Reason You're Alive


After sixty-eight-year-old David Granger crashes his BMW, medical tests reveal a brain tumor that he readily attributes to his wartime Agent Orange exposure. He wakes up from surgery repeating a name no one in his civilian life has ever heard - that of a Native American soldier whom he was once ordered to discipline. David decides to return something precious he long ago stole from the man he now calls Clayton Fire Bear. It might be the only way to find closure in a world increasingly at odds with the one he served to protect. It might also help him finally recover from his wife's untimely demise. As David confronts his past to salvage his present, a poignant portrait emerges: that of an opinionated and goodhearted American patriot fighting like hell to stay true to his red, white, and blue heart, even as the country he loves rapidly changes in ways he doesn't always like or understand. Hanging in the balance are Granger's distant art-dealing son, Hank; his adoring seven-year-old granddaughter, Ella; and his best friend, Sue, a Vietnamese-American who respects David's fearless sincerity. Through the controversial, wrenching, and wildly honest David Granger, Matthew Quick offers a no-nonsense but ultimately hopeful view of America's polarized psyche. By turns irascible and hilarious, insightful and inconvenient, David is a complex, wounded, honorable, and ultimately loving man. The Reason You're Alive examines how the secrets and debts we carry from our past define us; it also challenges us to look beyond our own prejudices and search for the good in our supposed enemies.
Vypredané
17,05 € 17,95 €

The Reason You're Alive


When sixty-eight-year-old Vietnam War veteran David Granger wakes up from emergency surgery, he finds himself repeating a name: Clayton Fire Bear, a soldier from whom he stole something long ago. And now, David knows he must make amends. It might be the only way to find happiness in a world increasingly at odds with the one he served to protect, and it might also help him recover from the loss of the wife he grieves for every day. Motivated by his adoring young granddaughter, Ella, David sets out to confront his past in order to salvage his present. Grumpy and argumentative he may be, but ultimately The Reason You're Alive challenges us to look beyond our own prejudices and search for the good in others.
Vypredané
11,88 € 12,50 €

Lacná kniha Odpusť mi, Leonard Peacock (-70%)


„... kľúčové je urobiť čosi, čo vás v mysliach normálnych ľudí navždy vyčlení z priemeru. Čosi, čo zaváži.“ Dnes má Leonard Peacock narodeniny. Dnes si vloží do školského batoha pištoľ P-38 – zbraň istého nacistického dôstojníka, ktorú zdedil po starom otcovi – a zastrelí svojho bývalého najlepšieho priateľa a potom seba. Už sa nevie dočkať. Ale najprv musí povedať zbohom štyrom priateľom, na ktorých mu záležalo: svojmu susedovi Waltovi posadnutému Humphreym Bogartom; spolužiakovi Babackovi, husľovému virtuózovi; veľkej kresťanke Lauren, do ktorej bol tak trochu zaľúbený; a herr Silvermanovi, ktorý ho na strednej škole učí o holokauste. Leonard sa s každým z nich porozpráva a postupne – ako hodiny tikajú a prichádza okamih pravdy – odhalí svoje tajomstvo.
Vypredané
3,87 € 12,90 €

dostupné aj ako: