Alexander Essbaum

autor

A jó feleség


Anna Benz amerikai, a negyven felé közeledik, és bankár férjével, Brunóval és három gyermekükkel Zürich egyik gazdag negyedében él. Annának látszólag mindene megvan, amire csak vágyhat, mégis úgy érzi, hogy hiányzik valami az életéből. Új élményekkel próbálja felrázni magát: németnyelv-órákkal, jungi analízissel és számtalan szexuális kalanddal, amelyekbe olyan könnyedén megy bele, hogy az még őt magát is meglepi. Rá kell jönnie azonban, hogy kilépni belőlük már sokkal nehezebb. Életében egyre több a stressz, hazugságai lassan maguk alá temetik. Miután átlépett egy erkölcsi határt, nincs visszaút. Jill Alexander Essbaum átütő erejű első könyve felejthetetlen történet házasságról, hűségről, szexről, erkölcsről és legfőképpen az énről. Anna Karenina, Bovaryné, A lány a vonaton - valahogyan mind szerepelnek ebben a történetben.
Na sklade 1Ks
11,16 € 11,75 €

Hausfrau


" NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • “Sexy and insightful, this gorgeously written novel opens a window into one woman’s desperate soul.”—People Anna was a good wife, mostly. For readers of The Girl on the Train and The Woman Upstairs comes a striking debut novel of marriage, fidelity, sex, and morality, featuring a fascinating heroine who struggles to live a life with meaning—“a modern-day Anna Karenina tale.”* Anna Benz, an American in her late thirties, lives with her Swiss husband, Bruno—a banker—and their three young children in a postcard-perfect suburb of Zürich. Though she leads a comfortable, well-appointed life, Anna is falling apart inside. Adrift and increasingly unable to connect with the emotionally unavailable Bruno or even with her own thoughts and feelings, Anna tries to rouse herself with new experiences: German language classes, Jungian analysis, and a series of sexual affairs she enters with an ease that surprises even her. But Anna can’t easily extract herself from these affairs. When she wants to end them, she finds it’s difficult. Tensions escalate, and her lies start to spin out of control. Having crossed a moral threshold, Anna will discover where a woman goes when there is no going back. Intimate, intense, and written with the precision of a Swiss Army knife, Jill Alexander Essbaum’s debut novel is an unforgettable story of marriage, fidelity, sex, morality, and most especially self. Navigating the lines between lust and love, guilt and shame, excuses and reasons, Anna Benz is an electrifying heroine whose passions and choices readers will debate with recognition and fury. Her story reveals, with honesty and great beauty, how we create ourselves and how we lose ourselves and the sometimes disastrous choices we make to find ourselves. Praise for Hausfrau “Elegant, erotic . . . There is much to admire in Essbaum’s intricately constructed, meticulously composed novel, including its virtuosic intercutting of past and present.”—Chicago Tribune “For a first novelist, Essbaum is extraordinary because she is a poet. Her language is meticulous and resonant and daring.”—NPR’s Weekend Edition “We’re in literary territory as familiar as Anna’s name, but Essbaum makes it fresh with sharp prose and psychological insight.”—San Francisco Chronicle “Essbaum’s poignant, shocking debut novel rivets.”—Us Weekly “A powerful, lyrical novel . . . Hausfrau boasts taut pacing and melodrama, but also a fully realized heroine as love-hateable as Emma Bovary and a poet’s fascination with language.”—The Huffington Post “Imagine Tom Perrotta’s American nowheresvilles swapped out for a tidy Zürich suburb, sprinkled liberally with sharp riffs on Swiss-German grammar and European hypocrisy.”—New York “Brain-surgically constructed to fascinate you, entertain you, and then make you question what a life lived with meaning looks like—all with a sense of poetic discipline and introspection.”—Los Angeles Magazine “[Hausfrau] is masterly as it moves toward its own inescapable ending.”—Publishers Weekly (starred review) “Madame Bovary meets Fifty Shades of Grey.”—Sunday Express (U.K.) *Glamour (U.K.) From the Hardcover edition "
Vypredané
16,10 € 16,95 €

Hausfrau


Ak bez niečoho nemôžete žiť, tak neprežijete. Tridsaťsedemročná Američanka Anna Benzová žije s manželom, švajčiarskym bankárom Brunom, a tromi malými deťmi na predmestí Zürichu, akoby vystrihnutom z úhľadných reklamných pohľadníc. Vedie pohodlný, materiálne komfortný život hausfrau, domácej panej, ale jej vnútorný svet sa rúca. Cíti hlbokú osamotenosť a čoraz väčšiu neschopnosť nadviazať kontakt s emocionálne nedostupným manželom Brunom, ba dokonca aj s vlastnými myšlienkami a pocitmi. A tak sa rozhodne prebrať k životu novými zážitkami: jungovskou psychoanalýzou pod vedením doktorky Messerliovej, hodinami nemčiny v jazykovej škole a kopou sexuálnych aférok, ktoré prežíva s takou ľahkosťou, až tým prekvapuje aj sama seba. Napokon sa od svojich sexuálnych afér stane závislou, a keď ich chce skončiť, zistí, že to nie je také jednoduché. Napätie sa stupňuje a všetky klamstvá sa Anne začnú vymykať spod kontroly. Prekročila hranice morálky a zisťuje, že sa dala vtiahnuť až tam, odkiaľ niet cesty späť.
Vypredané
1,00 € 12,90 €

dostupné aj ako:

Hausfrau


Anotácia, žiaľ, nie je k dispozícii.
Vypredané
13,35 € 14,05 €

Lacná kniha Hausfrau (-70%)


Ak bez niečoho nemôžete žiť, tak neprežijete. Tridsaťsedemročná Američanka Anna Benzová žije s manželom, švajčiarskym bankárom Brunom, a tromi malými deťmi na predmestí Zürichu, akoby vystrihnutom z úhľadných reklamných pohľadníc. Vedie pohodlný, materiálne komfortný život hausfrau, domácej panej, ale jej vnútorný svet sa rúca. Cíti hlbokú osamotenosť a čoraz väčšiu neschopnosť nadviazať kontakt s emocionálne nedostupným manželom Brunom, ba dokonca aj s vlastnými myšlienkami a pocitmi. A tak sa rozhodne prebrať k životu novými zážitkami: jungovskou psychoanalýzou pod vedením doktorky Messerliovej, hodinami nemčiny v jazykovej škole a kopou sexuálnych aférok, ktoré prežíva s takou ľahkosťou, až tým prekvapuje aj sama seba. Napokon sa od svojich sexuálnych afér stane závislou, a keď ich chce skončiť, zistí, že to nie je také jednoduché. Napätie sa stupňuje a všetky klamstvá sa Anne začnú vymykať spod kontroly. Prekročila hranice morálky a zisťuje, že sa dala vtiahnuť až tam, odkiaľ niet cesty späť.
Vypredané
3,87 € 12,90 €

dostupné aj ako: