Knižné kamarátstva | DOPRAVA ZADARMO od 15€!

Martha Kelly

autor

Dívky beze jména


Silný příběh napsaný podle skutečných osudů žen, které přežily Ravensbrück

Mladá Polka Kasia, americká herečka Caroline a německá lékařka Herta – osudy těchto tří žen mají společný jmenovatel – Ravensbrück. V ženském koncentračním táboře byla Kasia jednou z těch, které se staly pokusnými králíky nacistických doktorů. Díky těm, jež pobyt v Ravensbrücku přežily, se zvěsti o obludných operacích dostanou do světa. Příběhy těchto žen, trpících doživotními zdravotními následky, inspirují filantropku Caroline. Po několika letech se jí podaří dostat přeživší z komunistického Polska do Spojených států amerických, kde se jim dostane patřičné zdravotnické péče. V connecticutské zahradě plné šeříků však ženy naleznou mnohem více. Autorka se nechala inspirovat osudy pamětnic a vytvořila nesmírně silný příběh o odvaze, utrpení a laskavosti, ale i o zločinech a hrůzách druhé světové války.
Na sklade
15,67 € 16,49 €

Orgovánové dievčatá


Newyorská organizátorka spoločenských podujatí Caroline Ferridayová má plné ruky práce na francúzskom konzuláte a na obzore sa črtá nový ľúbostný vzťah. No jej svet sa úplne zmení, keď Hitlerove vojská v septembri 1939 vtrhnú do Poľska a potom si už brúsia zuby na Francúzsko.
Na druhej strane oceána Kaša Kuśmierczyková, poľská tínedžerka, pochopí, že jej bezstarostná mladosť sa stráca. Odvážne prijme úlohu doručovať odkazy v poľskom podzemnom odboji. V tiesnivej atmosfére sliedivých pohľadov a podozrievavých susedov však má jediný nesprávny krok zničujúce následky pre celú rodinu.
Na ambicióznu mladú nemeckú lekárku Hertu Oberheuserovú inzerát hľadajúci lekára do štátnej služby zapôsobí ako možnosť úniku z bezútešného života. Lenže keď miesto prijme, ocitne sa v pasci nacistických tajných operácií, moci, ktorú ovládajú muži.
Životy troch žien sa nečakane pretnú. Nemysliteľné sa stáva skutočnosťou. Kašu pošlú do Ravensbrücku, neslávne známeho nacistického koncentračného tábora pre ženy. Mnohé väzenkyne sa podobne ako ona stanú „králikmi“, obeťami drastických medicínskych pokusov. Príbehy trojice žien prekračujú kontinenty – z New Yorku do Paríža, Nemecka a Poľska. Caroline a Kaša sa usilujú spravodlivo vyrovnať s tými, na ktorých dejiny zabúdajú.

U dodávateľa
14,16 € 14,90 €

Orgonalányok


Igaz történeten alapuló regény elfeledett hősnőkről.

Caroline Ferriday, a jó családból származó New York-i lány minden idejét leköti a francia konzulátuson betöltött állása, de világa véglegesen felfordul a háború baljós előestéjén. 1939 szeptemberében Hitler hadserege megszállja Lengyelországot, majd következő célpontjául Franciaországot szemeli ki.

Caroline-tól egy óceánnyi távolságra egy lengyel kamaszlány, Kasia Kuzmerick gondtalan ifjúsága szertefoszlik, és küldöncként egyre jobban bevonódik a földalatti ellenállás tevékenységébe. Figyelő szemek kereszttüzében és gyanakvó szomszédokkal körülvéve egyetlen hibás lépés is szörnyű következményekkel járhat.
A fiatal, becsvágyó orvosnő, Herta Oberheuser számára egy kormányzati orvosi állásról szóló hirdetés jelentheti a kiutat kilátástalan életéből. Az állás elnyerése után azonban a náci titkok és hatalmi játszmák férfiak irányította világának csapdájában találja magát.
E három nő életútja találkozik, amikor megtörténik az elképzelhetetlen, és Kasia a hírhedt ravensbrücki náci női koncentrációs táborba kerül. Történetük földrészeket ível át – New Yorktól Párizsig, Németországig és Lengyelországig –, amikor Caroline és Kasia igazságot próbál szolgáltatni azoknak, akikről a történelem elfeledkezett.
Magával ragad az igazság keresésébe és az évtizedekig rejtegetett szörnyű titkok feltárásába.
U dodávateľa
12,26 € 12,90 €

Lilac Girls


For readers of The Nightingale and Sarah’s Key, inspired by the life of a real World War II heroine, this remarkable debut novel reveals the power of unsung women to change history in their quest for love, freedom, and second chances. New York socialite Caroline Ferriday has her hands full with her post at the French consulate and a new love on the horizon. But Caroline’s world is forever changed when Hitler’s army invades Poland in September 1939—and then sets its sights on France. An ocean away from Caroline, Kasia Kuzmerick, a Polish teenager, senses her carefree youth disappearing as she is drawn deeper into her role as courier for the underground resistance movement. In a tense atmosphere of watchful eyes and suspecting neighbors, one false move can have dire consequences. For the ambitious young German doctor, Herta Oberheuser, an ad for a government medical position seems her ticket out of a desolate life. Once hired, though, she finds herself trapped in a male-dominated realm of Nazi secrets and power. The lives of these three women are set on a collision course when the unthinkable happens and Kasia is sent to Ravensbrück, the notorious Nazi concentration camp for women. Their stories cross continents—from New York to Paris, Germany, and Poland—as Caroline and Kasia strive to bring justice to those whom history has forgotten. USA Today “New and Noteworthy” Book • LibraryReads Top Ten Pick “Harrowing . . . Lilac illuminates.”—People “A compelling, page-turning narrative . . . Lilac Girls falls squarely into the groundbreaking category of fiction that re-examines history from a fresh, female point of view. It’s smart, thoughtful and also just an old-fashioned good read.”—Fort Worth Star-Telegram “A powerful story for readers everywhere . . . Martha Hall Kelly has brought readers a firsthand glimpse into one of history’s most frightening memories. A novel that brings to life what these women and many others suffered. . . . I was moved to tears.”—San Francisco Book Review “Extremely moving and memorable . . . This impressive debut should appeal strongly to historical fiction readers and to book clubs that adored Kristin Hannah’s The Nightingale and Anthony Doerr’s All the Light We Cannot See.”—Library Journal (starred review) “[A] compelling first novel . . . This is a page-turner demonstrating the tests and triumphs civilians faced during war, complemented by Kelly’s vivid depiction of history and excellent characters.”—Publishers Weekly “Kelly vividly re-creates the world of Ravensbrück.”—Kirkus Reviews “Inspired by actual events and real people, Martha Hall Kelly has woven together the stories of three women during World War II that reveal the bravery, cowardice, and cruelty of those days. This is a part of history—women’s history—that should never be forgotten.”—Lisa See, New York Times bestselling author of China Dolls “Profound, unsettling, and thoroughly . . . the best book I’ve read all year.”—Jamie Ford, New York Times bestselling author of Hotel on the Corner of Bitter and Sweet
Vypredané
13,25 € 13,95 €