Knižné kamarátstva

Claire Lombardo

autor

To najlepšie v živote


Viacgeneračný román o štyroch dcérach, ktoré ľahkovážne rozdúchavajú starú rivalitu, a jednom dávno pochovanom tajomstve.

Keď sa Marilyn a David v sedemdesiatych rokoch do seba zaľúbia, žijú v blaženej nevedomosti. Netušia, čo všetko ich čaká. O mnoho rokov prežívajú ich dospelé, celkom rozdielne dcéry ťažké časy. Wendy ovdovela veľmi mladá a útechu hľadá v alkohole a u mladších mužov. Violet je právnička, ale zostala doma s dvoma malými deťmi, trpí úzkosťou a pochybuje o sebe. Liza je neurotička, čerstvo vymenovaná za profesorku. Neplánované tehotenstvo ju nepríjemne zaskočí a ona váha, či dieťa vôbec chce. Grace je najmladšia dcéra, ktorá žije v klamstve a nikto z rodiny to netuší. Na scéne sa napokon vynorí Jonah Bendt, chlapec, ktorého sa pred pätnástimi rokmi vzdala jedna zo sestier, a postupne sa nám odkryje pestrá minulosť rodiny Sorensonovcov, roky poznačené dospievaním detí, zatrpknutosťou, ale aj chvíľami radosti, vďaka ktorým život stojí za to.
Na sklade
14,29 € 17,90 €

The Most Fun We Ever Had


'A literary love child of Jonathan Franzen and Anne Tyler ... an outstanding debut, assured and highly enjoyable' Observer'Should appeal to fans of Maria Semple, Emma Straub and Jennifer Egan ... A moving, immersive, often very funny study of family and sisterhood' Sunday Times'As good as Jonathan Franzen's The Corrections or Jennifer Egan's A Visit from the Goon Squad; it is almost impossible to believe that it is a debut. The Most Fun We Ever Had is as good as books come' Telegraph'Like Meg Wolitzer. A forensic dissection of family past and present, I loved it. If you like reading about relationships, this one is for you.' Pandora Sykes MEET THE SORENSON FAMILYMARILYN has somehow fallen into motherhood and spent four decades married toDAVID, who's pretty certain he loves her more than anyone has ever loved another person. WENDY, their eldest, a cause for concern, soothes herself with drink after being widowed young,while VIOLET, lawyer-turned-stay-at-home-mother, is disturbed by the reappearance of a son placed for adoption fifteen years earlier. LIZA, a professor, is pregnant with a baby she's not sure she wants by a man she's not sure she lovesand GRACE, their dawdling youngest daughter, lives a lie that no one in her family suspects. 'A gripping and poignant ode to a messy, loving family in all its glory' Madeline Miller, author of Circe and The Song of Achilles'Everything about this brilliant debut cuts deep: the humor, the wisdom, the pathos' Rebecca Makkai, author of The Great Believers
U dodávateľa
11,35 € 11,95 €

The Most Fun We Ever Had


'A literary love child of Jonathan Franzen and Anne Tyler ... an outstanding debut, assured and highly enjoyable' Observer 'Should appeal to fans of Maria Semple, Emma Straub and Jennifer Egan ... A moving, immersive, often very funny study of family and sisterhood' Sunday Times At a family wedding, the four Sorenson sisters polka-dot the green lawn in their summer pastels, with varying shades of hair and varying degrees of unease. Their long-infatuated parents watch on with a combination of love and concern. Sixteen years later, the already messy lives of the sisters are thrown into turmoil by the unexpected reappearance of a teenage boy given up for adoption years earlier - and the rich and varied tapestry of the Sorensons' past is revealed. Weaving between past and present, The Most Fun We Ever Had portrays the delights and difficulties of family life and the endlessly complex mixture of affection and abhorrence we feel for those closest to us. A dazzlingly accomplished debut and an utterly immersive portrait of one family's becoming, it marks the arrival of a major new literary voice. 'A gripping and poignant ode to a messy, loving family in all its glory' Madeline Miller, author of Circe and The Song of Achilles 'Everything about this brilliant debut cuts deep: the humor, the wisdom, the pathos' Rebecca Makkai, author of The Great Believers
Vypredané
18,00 € 18,95 €

Nejhezčí dny našich životů


Seznamte se, tohle jsou Sorensonovi! Rodinná sága o manželském páru, čtyřech dcerách, které mezi sebou neustále válčí, a jednom dlouho pohřbeném tajemství… Když se do sebe Marilyn a David zamilovali, netušili, co na ně čeká. O čtyřicet let později mají čtveřici rozdílných dcer, které bojují mezi sebou navzájem a se svými životy. Ovdovělá Wendy zmírňuje svůj smutek alkoholem a mladšími muži. Violet se potýká s úzkostí. Neurotická profesorka Liza zjistí, že je těhotná, ale není si jistá, zda dítě chce. A nakonec Grace, lehkovážná nejmladší dcera, která žije ve lži, o níž nemá nikdo z rodiny nejmenší tušení.
Vypredané
22,28 € 23,45 €