% Zľavy na hry %

Andrew Murray

autor

Poslední rozbřesk


Když se Země přestane otáčet, ještě to neznamená konec lidské touhy po moci.Před čtyřiceti lety se následkem vesmírné katastrofy začala zpomalovat zemská rotace a po deseti letech se Země zastavila úplně. Teď je jedna strana planety natočená ke žhnoucímu Slunci a druhá uvězněná v nekonečné ledové noci. Většina států přestala fungovat, ale pár šťastných zemí na teplé straně planety přežilo. Jednou z nich je i Velká Británie, která se zachránila tím, že se od hroutícího se světa naprosto odřízla. Dnes v ní vládne vojenská autokracie a země je sužovaná hladem a násilím. Ellen Hopperová je oceánografka žijící na ledové plošině v Atlantiku. Do svého dobrovolného vyhnanství se uchýlila poté, co její domovina propadla autoritářství, a už s ní nechce mít nic společného. Když však za ní přijedou dva úředníci s prosbou, aby se vrátila do Londýna a setkala se s jistým umírajícím mužem, Ellen souhlasí — a začne odhalovat tajemství, které ohrožuje nejen křehkou stabilitu jejího národa, ale i celé lidstvo.
U dodávateľa
17,81 € 18,75 €

The Last Day


A WORLD HALF IN DARKNESS. A SECRET SHE MUST BRING TO LIGHT.2059. The world has stopped turning. One half suffers an endless frozen night; the other, nothing but burning sun. Only in a slim twilit region between them can life survive. In an isolationist Britain, scientist Ellen Hopper receives a letter from a dying man. It contains a powerful and dangerous secret. One that those in power will kill to conceal...THE LAST DAY: an utterly original thriller from an exciting new voice, perfect for readers who loved Robert Harris' Fatherland, Emily St. John Mandel's Station 11, and The Wall by John Lanchester.'Wonderful: boldly imagined and beautifully written - the best future-shock thriller for years.' LEE CHILD'A tantalizing, suspenseful odyssey of frustration, deceit, treachery, torture, hope, despair and ingenious sleuthing... Murray has so thoroughly thought through the ramifications of his conceit and conjured up such a dramatic plot and stellar cast of characters that he might have set a new standard for such tales.' WASHINGTON POST'A stunningly original thriller set in the world of tomorrow that will make you think about what's happening today.' HARLAN COBEN'A taut, thrilling runaround.' GUARDIAN'I read this hungrily ... Its intelligence and bravura characterisation will have you turning page after page. A fabulous achievement.' STEPHEN FRY'A brilliant debut ... Fans of Robert Harris will love it' DAILY EXPRESS'To say it's gripping is an understatement - I cancelled all my weekend plans to finish it' SARA PASCOE'In his fascinating debut, Murray has crafted something original ... an interesting new twist on a post-apocalyptic tale.' KIRKUS'Downright impossible to stop reading. The science is believable, the near-future world feels as real as our own, the characters are lively, and the plot is suspenseful. A near-perfect alternate-future thriller.' BOOKLIST'Dark, believable and brilliantly written' JENNY COLGAN'A thrilling page-turner, and a reminder to treasure our sunsets and sunrises while we still have them. I couldn't put this book down!' CHRISTINA DALCHER, author of VOX'I loved the premise of this high-concept thriller ... a compelling read with some well-placed observations on the darkness of human nature and survival. The Last Day will keep you gripped to the very last page' C.J. TUDOR'Inventive, richly detailed world-building' TELEGRAPH'Intriguing and unusual' SUNDAY TIMES
Vypredané
10,93 € 11,50 €